Christmas Carol Mash: “What Christmas Means to Me”

CCM ryan

Chestnuts Roasting, which I never liked, when Silver Bells always rang on a Silent Night. We bellowed our young voices to the old wondering for the first time if Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer would offend. Marilyn Monroe sings the best Santa Baby; I knew that even then. And I always tried to picture Daddy’s face when he saw Mommy Kissing Santa Clause. Rudolph, my favorite reindeer, because he was different, I presume, battled The Little Drummer Boy for my affection. And I could sing a solo of Frosty the Snowman on repeat for as long as it took him to melt on a sunny afternoon.

My mother always taught me to Put One Foot in Front of the Other; while, my father played the part of a Scrooge, rather than a Heat Miser. With my brother and sister, we took the parts of Johnny, Susie and Nelly; I, like Nelly, wanted a storybook because I memorized the whole ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas by the time I was three.

CCM tyler

Jingle Bells chimed whenever a guest arrived ducking under the Mistletoe and Holly, hung from the doorway, to find us Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree. Waiting patiently through The Twelve Days of Christmas, praying for a Winter Wonderland, waiting for loved ones to come Home for the Holidays.

As I got older, the benevolence of Christmas became apparent as I took part in Feed the World to Let Them Know it’s Christmastime. I worried about others, not only myself, having a Blue Christmas when I thought mine so Merry and Bright. I began to have faith that everyone would, one day, experience Peace on Earth.

CCM Lexy

Once I fell in love, You’re My Christmas Present became my theme, and together our love blossomed into Baby’s First Christmas. We warned our children of Grinch tactics by keeping the spirit magical by reminding them Santa Clause IS Coming to Town. We sang Let it Snow! Let it Snow! Let it Snow! sipping hot chocolate before and Open Fire after taking a Sleigh Ride through a Marshmallow World.

As our children grow, we hope they’ll always come Home for the Holidays because it isn’t a Happy Christmas unless we spend Christmas with the Family.

CCM angel

Say Something! I read everything & promise to reply:

