Slow and Steady Wins the Race

nano count Nov 21 13

Dear Blog,

I’ve been neglecting you. See, I’ve been working on a NaNoWriMo project that isn’t going as well as I was hoping. Sure, word-wise, I’m on target, but my book is still just not where I want it to be. Last year at this time, momentum was at an all time high. Obsessed with my story, I wrote and wrote and wrote; I dreamed and breathed it. For this book, I’m coaxing myself.

Lev Grossman in his pep talk to NaNo-ers wrote that we all have doubts as writers… that rough drafts are just that. I’m putting my faith in his words. While the ideas soared with my last project, this one may need more Tender Loving Care.

I’m committed to the contest. I’m committed to winning. Most importantly, I’m committed to the process and what I can learn about my story, its characters and myself along the way.

Slow and steady wins the race.

Yours Truly,

A frustrated, but committed writer

Say Something! I read everything & promise to reply:

