A Room of My Own

room 4a

My summer is full of “projects”– tasks I simply don’t have time for during the school year. This summer is no different. However, one such project was multi-purposed: for me to create a room of my own.

room 7

As my children grew, physically bigger, the space in my house seemed shrinking and mine seemingly obsolete. When my 22 year old son announced he was moving across the country, I really thought about his room. Should I leave it completely in tact? Just in case? Completely closed off– a shrine of sorts. I discussed the choices that lay before me; he wasn’t happy he’d be losing stock, but it was his decision, after all, to leave the nest. After serious contemplation, I decided to reclaim my space. The room that had been mine before he became restless and independent wanting his own space outside of his shared room with his brother would become mine again. I’d sacrificed that and so much more. Making it clear that he’d always have a home in our home to return to, I set about the task of closure and new beginnings.

room 1a

I went with a black & white theme, thoroughly inspired by Pinterest. I decided I’d do three white walls and one blackboard wall (black chalk board paint which comes in an array of colors, but I chose black). Being the quote collecter that I am, a graffiti chalkboard wall made sense to me. On it, I wrote quotes and drew symbols that are important or inspiring to me.

room 2a room 3a

Because I already had a daybed, I just needed the dressing to make it look pretty. I needed a desk and a cabinet, too, so I set about my shopping spree.

room 6a

Here’s my list if you like what you see:

blackboard paint- Home Depot

whiteboard paint pens & chalks- Staples

bed linens & pillow cases- Wal-Mart

throw pillows- Overstock.com

valance- Kangaroo Closet

desk, white bookshelf/storage cabinet & white arm chair- Ikea

room 5a

This is my place to write– not a shared office space where I have to vie for time or a portion of the dining room where I can be distracted constantly. This is a room that inspires me because it’s mine. Only mine. It reflects all of who I am. And the best part– I can close the door.

2 thoughts on “A Room of My Own

Say Something! I read everything & promise to reply:

