NaNoWriMo 2012: OUT!

Nano Winner 50k 2012 certif

Well, I made it through the month of NaNoWriMoing w/ my final count at 65, 256. Not too bad. Not anywhere close to completing my book, but well underway. I’m thinking best seller! 😛 “If you dream it, it will come.”

The most important lesson I learned is that, even during one of the busiest months of the year, I can carve out time everyday for my craft, and so I shall.

I’m kind of sad to see it end, as it’s something I looked forward to everyday. The daily, “So, what’s your count?” from various people in various walks of my life was encouraging and I gained a sense of pride everyday, when I was able to say a higher number than the day before. Looking forward to blogging about my progress, entering a thought on one of the NaNo FB groups I belong to, reading about everyone else’s progress whether it be on FB or a blog, was inspiring; it kept it fresh, helped me to look from a new perspective, try things that others suggested. Being part of a writing community is something that was wholly reinforced throughout this process. I also liked giving myself permission to step outside of my comfort zone because I pleasantly am surprising myself with the product. This will prompt me to challenge myself more often to write outside the box or throw a new wrench into my process. I always think “change is good” which is reaffirmed every single time I embrace change, but in between my leaps has always persisted the fear of it.

Would I do this again? Absolutely. Perhaps not annually, but certainly again. This served as a welcome jump start for me– between projects, not knowing where I wanted to go. Now, I have direction. And I’d like to publicly make a vow that each time I participate in NaNoWriMo, to change something up, challenge myself in new ways– use it as a platform for growth.

Thank you to Megumi for inspiring me, my NaNo buddies for keeping me going, my family for allowing me the-month-long-excuse of “Mom is writing her novel,” my blog followers for reading my progress & maintaining interest,  and, most of all, myself for finding it in me to be self-disciplined in reaching my goal.

NaNoWriMo 2012 OUT!

Winner widgets

Say Something! I read everything & promise to reply:

