Switching Gears

With more than 50% of my count in and more than 50% of time left to get there, my focus has turned from just trying to get to 50k to trying to complete the first draft of a novel.

I have to admit, that I’m completely invested in my characters as they are really taking shape now, and they have a story. While at times, I’m writing through a particular event, making a note to go back and develop it further or tweak it or revisit it altogether, I’m still resisting real editing temptation. That said, it is becoming increasingly more difficult to resist. I find myself taking more copious notes than usual because I’m allowing myself to just write through my trouble spots.

One strategy that is really working is jotting down some notes about where the next phase of the story is going upon completion of writing each day. Just a couple of bullets at the end of the writing does the trick for me. It really helps me to focus more quickly than my usual routine which would be to completely re-read the day before’s work.

There are also sections/chapters that upon completion of them, I recognize as good writing. Ahh… and that feels REAL good! At least, there will be substance to work with when this insane writing race commences and it’s time to noodle.

I am thoroughly happy that I decided to tackle this project, even though it is amidst the end of one marking period and the beginning of a new one, xmas shopping, 1 child returning home from school for the month of November and picking up the other (4&1/2 hours away by car) on Friday for a week, and Thanksgiving. Yes it is a crazy busy month, but I’m making it work and so proud that I am able to do so. I began this task mostly excited but also scared that I was biting off more than I can chew. I was thinking I’d just do my best (translation: it’s okay if I can’t meet the daily word count). Now, I’m thinking I’m doing my best (translation: exceeding my own expectations). Thank you, NaNoWriMo for giving me the push I needed.

Say Something! I read everything & promise to reply:

