Tags

, , ,

Somewhere, I read some suggested rules of successful NaNoWriMo-ing which included writing abundantly, eating healthy, drinking plenty of fluids, sleeping well and exercising. At the time, they all seemed pretty obvious– good daily practices whether you are writing 1,667 day (or more) or not.

Sub-consciously, at first, I’ve been heeding them. While exercising is not normally part of my daily routine (as I know it should be), I’ve been feeling great about it.

13, 877 words in (count clocked yesterday)– I’d say I’m off to a great start and feeling really good about not only my writing but myself– an ancillary benefit I hadn’t counted on.

The words do seem to be coming abundantly. I’m feeling “the flow” of the story which doesn’t normally happen this early into a project (albeit that I’m not normally this far in only 5 days). I also have curbed my inclination for editing while writing. Although, I am noting where I know, now, that I need to return at some later date.

My concern at this point is that I’m more than 1/5 of the way to my goal (or the goal set my the program), but I don’t think I’m 1/5 into the whole of the novel (in fact, I can almost guarantee it). Yet, I’m committed to stay true to the story and not simply to fulfilling a word count. I’m realizing this story has a lot more to it than what can be said in 50k words.

I’m also already feeling like I need to tweak my synopsis some. Claire isn’t as undatable as I had originally perceived her to be– at this juncture it’s more about her inability to find the right person. I could work with that.

My favorite part about writing is discovering the story through writing it. For me, it cannot be absolutely planned because it takes on a life of its own.

Now back to writing… with a hot cup of coffee at my side and a nice run on the treadmill to look forward to.

