In preparation of the storm, I went to the store to buy myself a pre-writing gift: a wireless keyboard for my IPad– a necessary tool in case I lose power because my IPad holds far more battery charge than my laptop. I’m actually panicking that Sandy will delay my start to writing. And I am OH SO ready to begin.
The upside of this 6 week lead-in to writing without actually having the ability to write has been the luxury of prep time. Never before in my writing have I pre-written so much material and done so much prep work. Here’s what I’ve accomplished:

1) synopsis/summary
2) join NaNoWriMo & invite writing buddies to form a network
3) character sketches and photos of what I envision my characters to look like
4) plot outline, including sub-plots
5) a complete and I mean COMPLETE bio of my main character
6) research of dating sites, dating site do’s & don’t’s, middle school information (mostly in the form of interviews): student & teacher stories, middle school play options, blogs, Adam Levine (who my main character is obsessed with) and Sex in the City (which I’ve never seen, but my main character can write a book on it)
7) establish a voice for my main character
8) gather my materials/logistics- laptop, IPad, keyboard, beret (of course, what writer doesn’t own a beret???)
9) Kick-off party at school planned
10) Sit back and wait, day dreaming about my main character and her escapades, while praying that hurricane Sandy doesn’t literally rain on my parade

I’m ready whether Sandy decides to take my power away or not.  I’m prepared and excited and scared all at the same time, but I’m ready. Best wishes fellow NaNoWriMoers!! Let the writing begin!!

