IWriNo Limbo

15 days. I have sufficiently character-sketched Claire (to death, well… not literally!)
But I certainly can say I know her well. Now I’m stuck in limbo– WAITING. I’m never very good at waiting. Panic is setting in…
Can I do this?
Did I take on too much?
What if this idea isn’t sustainable? I can’t just quit & start fresh. I need to keep going.
Is my story getting too complex in my head? Because I want to finish A DRAFT by the end of this.
My mind is swirling thoughts and thoughts and thoughts. I just want it to begin already. I’m afraid if I set it aside for the next two weeks, I’ll lose the momentum– the eagerness to begin.
Breathe, I tell myself. You are really liking what you know of this character already… her quirks make her who she is. You can do this… even though it’s unlike anything you’ve done before… that’s part of the challenge, remember. It doesn’t have to be perfect. In fact, it will not be perfect. Allow the imperfections; write through them.
I have written 8 pages of character sketch. I have written 5 pages in her voice. I recorded a day in the life. Copied and pasted random pix of who I imagine these characters to look like. I’ve researched. I wrote a loose plot outline; I don’t want it too tight, the imagination needs room.
Waiting. Waiting. Still waiting.
BREATHE!

6 thoughts on “IWriNo Limbo

  1. I love that workbook. Picked it up, got started and then haven’t picked it up since July (shhhhhh!). You’re farther ahead of the game than I am. I’m still trying to decide if I can even pick up my idea from this summer again or if I should start anew. Or if I can even do this. Eek!

  2. This year will be either my third or fourth year attempting NaNoWriMo…over the course of the years, I have written a grand total of 205 words. Well, to tell the truth, I’ve written more, only deleted all but 205 words of my soon-to-be-chart-topping-mystery-thriller. November is always a busy month for us, with my work schedule and getting the kids from school to their activities. I really need NaNoWriMo to happen in the summertime. Especially in July when we’re vacationing in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. Good luck this year!

  3. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one these days.

Say Something! I read everything & promise to reply:

