IWriNo

Yes, I am. I’ve committed to writing a novel through the NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) project. This means I have exactly one month (from November 1- November 30) to write a 50,000 (or more) word novel. I was turned onto the project by a colleague who has challenged her Writers’ Workshop students with the project; there is a site dedicated to young writers for all of you educators out there.

While a daunting task, I think this is just what I need to get me out of my writing slump. I’ve been between projects for some time, now. So many ideas are swirling through my head, some I’ve brainstormed on paper, but I haven’t been able to commit to one. Aside from keeping up with my blog– I’ve been in limbo for too long. I’m hoping my NaNoWriMo commitment will be just the jump start I need.

I’ve already come up with a sketchy idea which is still ruminating. Instead of using one of the ideas-on-hold, I want to do something completely different. I’m thinking a sassy, sarcastic tone, something light and fun– maybe even funNY! I don’t usually write funny. Bridget Jones’s Diary, Helen Fielding, is what comes to mind.

I’m going to blog about my process, so feel free to keep tabs on me. And if you need your head examined, like me, I challenge you to give it a try, too! We could be NaNoWriMo Buddies. ON YOUR MARK. GET SET. GO!

2 thoughts on “IWriNo

Say Something! I read everything & promise to reply:

