Tags

, , ,

I rarely read for pleasure during the school year. Usually, I’m juggling, keeping ahead of my students re-reading (most often), three books concurrently. When I read my own selections during the school year, the books are most likely easy, all encompassing reads that I can’t put down. When I pick up a book that really makes me think or isn’t a mindless read– the amount of times I need to put it down makes me lose interest. I usually opt to read smaller works for pleasure during the school year– ones that I can enjoy over a short period of time. So, throughout the year, I accumulate a pile of books I want to read over the summer, when I can take all the time I need to savor them. My pile is like a promise that at summer’s end I will feel more fulfilled, inspired, educated than when the summer first began.

