Tags

If I had a super power, it would most definitely be time travel.

From Dr. Seuss’s “Oh! The Places you’ll go!”

”Congratulations!
Today is your day.
You’re off to Great Places!
You’re off and away!

You have brains in your head.
You have feet in your shoes
You can steer yourself
any direction you choose.

OH!
THE PLACES YOU’LL GO!

You’ll be on your way up!
You’ll be seeing great sights!
You’ll join the high fliers
who soar to high heights.

You won’t lag behind, because you’ll have the speed.
You’ll pass the whole gang and you’ll soon take the lead.
Wherever you fly, you’ll be the best of the best.
Wherever you go, you will top all the rest.”

So… here I go… (and not in any particular order)

I’d like to be a confidante of Mary Magdalene. I’d like to know who Jesus was, actually, and what their relationship was. I imagine it to be a great love affair and Jesus to be a prophet who was persecuted for his beliefs. It would be interesting to know if Mary knew him as the son of God, if in fact he was, or as just a man.

I’d like to have been employed or at least have been a parishioner at the Sistine Chapel when Michelangelo was painting it, so I could witness beauty in the making.

I’d go back to the age of the dinosaurs just to SEE one (from afar) or, perhaps, even BE a dinosaur to determine if they think/feel or whether they just have the power of instinct.

I’d be one of Edgar Cayce’s patients so he could experiment w/ my mind to determine what my dreams meant and if, in fact, I’d recalled my past lives.

I’d like to have a discussion w/ Leonardo da Vinci about his Vitruvian Man drawing so I could comprehend/experience/bask in the moment of his brilliance.

I’d be one of the Londoner’s to witness the beheading of Ann Boleyn… detached enough from the court to not be emotionally involved or physically at risk myself, but close enough to be aware of the circumstances and knowledgeable enough to have formed an opinion about whether or not it was just.

I would have been the friend, Ellen Nussey, to the Bronte children.

I’d be a member of the court of Queen Victoria, perhaps QueenElizabeth, too.

I’d be part of theBloomsburygroup, a painter, I think, because I’ve always wanted to paint. To be part of that movement– caught up body and soul in the idea of artistic expression and definition.

I’d be a hippy, protester, singer-songwriter duringVietnam. I would have attended the Abby Hoffman rallies.

I’d be a member of the jury for the Helter Skelter trials of Charles Manson.

I would attend the opening performance of Romeo & Juliet.

I’d be on the set of the making of Gone With The Wind and would have also attended the premier.

I would have worked w/ Jackie Bouvier in the magazine industry.

I’d have been an actress/friend to Judy Garland & Mickey Rooney, starring in films w/ them.

I would have worked alongside Franklin Delano Roosevelt during the time of the New Deal.

I would like to have been a newspaper reporter when J.F.K. was assassinated.

I’d like to be a geisha for a week ( I think that would be plenty of time ).

I would like to have known Charles Dickens and to have been adapted as a character in one of his novels.

I’d be a cloistered nun.

I’d like to be a member of the Gambino family inNew Yorkduring the 1950’s, perhaps even a mobster, myself.

Oh! The places I could go! I might just continue adding to this list…

