Teaching English isn’t about just letters…

I’m not great w/ #’s, but I always tell me students to challenge themselves, raise the bar, so this is my attempt at practicing what I preach.

I’ve been teaching for 22 years
I’ve taught approximately 1690 students
I have 3 of my own children whom I have been teaching for 7315 days
On average, I correct 2550 pages of writing a year (this does not include homework, tests or quizzes)
I am at work for 37.5 hours per week, 1200 hours per school year, but I spend at least an additional 392 hours of unpaid time doing work for my job– which is a total of 1592 hours per year.
I make under $40 per hour after having 18 years of education, 1 diploma and 2 degrees, and 22 years of experience, and 720 hours of professional development hours
I can listen to approximately 8 conversations at one time and can carry on 3 conversations at a time
I hear my name called approximately 40 times per day
80 students pass through my door on a given day, 400 in a given week
I spend about $300 in class supplies from my own funds per year
I average 6 minutes in the bathroom a day (that’s 2 trips– between classes)
I write out about 10 passes per day
I can work on 3 tasks at a time, w/ efficiency
I receive approximately 25 emails a day that need to be addressed in some way
I speak to parents about 16 times per year about their children’s performance (or often lack thereof)
I teach 36 units per year (ranging from 2 weeks to 8 weeks in duration)
I have talked to about 20 different alumni per year
I receive 5-10 thank you notes per year from students

I’ve written up to 24 college recommendations in a given year

I mail out approximately 150 letters to students 4 years after their graduation (writing personal notes to about 100 of them)

I get 1-2 prep periods per school day (more often than not, not in my own classroom)
I have over 150 conferences w/ students about their work each year
I have read 4 different books concurrently
I have taught in 9 different schools
The longest I’ve taught in one place is 11 years, the shortest was 2 years
I have been inspired by 14 teachers/professors that’s in addition to 18 who are/have been colleagues
I have written thank you notes to 5 of them

Most days, I don’t know how I do what I do in a day, but every day I make a real connection w/ my students makes it all worth it.

Say Something! I read everything & promise to reply:

